I really enjoyed teaching the lesson yesterday on the stumbling block of knowledge.  I became even more aware as I prepared for Sunday of how limited I am by what I know, or think I know.  I get trapped in my own perceptions of life. When I repent of the narrowness of my viewpoint, and turn to God for direction He can and does give me a fresh perspective.

 This morning as I was catching up on email I got a post from a blog I follow.  This blog addresses current information on brain functioning, with a strong emphasis on the narrowness of psychiatry’s view on mental health.  As I examined this article I got a fresh understanding of the longing that I sense in the church.

What Clay Shirky writes in this article  is while people in this generation have expendable time, the real issue is what they choose to spend their time doing.  Anything that invites people to be passive observers is being rejected in favor of hands-on experience.

Think of this in terms of Sunday School or church services.  Most invite people to sit and learn, with little or no practical application.  People can stand only so much of this without becoming impatient with the process.  Thus the reason for experiences like Journey into Discipleship and The Expedition.

The joy of being alive and able to experience God throughout the week, and then spending some time sharing the week’s insights gives great joy.  There was indepth sharing in Patria yesterday that resonated with many in the group.  Thanks, Joey for being honest.  Real Christian growth comes from honest repentance, reliance on Jesus for guidance (instead of our own knowledge), and willingness to follow Jesus’ commands.

Wow, I’m looking forward to this week.